Clean Energy Communities

Congratulations to the newest municipalities that have been designated as Clean Energy Communities in Eastern NY. Each of these communities has completed at least four of 10 “high impact actions” that save energy and money and contribute to lowering greenhouse gas emissions – activities such as tracking energy use in municipal buildings, training for improved energy code enforcement, and policies to support solar energy.

Under the program, grants are available to 18 communities in each region of the state.  All city, town, village, and county governments, tribes, and nations may apply.  The grants range in size from $50,000 to $250,000 depending on the community’s population.  No local match is required.

The newest municipalities being recognized by the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)’s Clean Energy Communities Program are:
MOHAWK VALLEY: City of Gloversville
HUDSON VALLEY: Village of Hastings-on-Hudson, Town of Rosendale, Village of Croton-on-Hudson, City of White Plains, City of Yonkers, Town of Ossining
CAPITAL REGION:  Albany County, Schenectady County, Town of Bethlehem

These communities join Ulster County, Kingston, Dobbs Ferry, Red Hook, and New Castle, which were previously designated.