The Tally: 32 Clean Energy Communities To-Date

Congratulations to the 32 municipalities that have been designated as Clean Energy Communities in Upstate Eastern NY. Each has completed at least four of 10 “high impact actions” that save energy and money and contribute to lowering greenhouse gas emissions – activities such as tracking energy use in municipal buildings, training for improved energy code enforcement, and enactment of policies to support solar energy.

Under the program, grants are available to 18 communities in each region of the state.  All city, town, village, and county governments, Indian tribes and nations may apply.  The grants range in size from $50,000 to $250,000 depending on the community’s population.  No local match is required.

The municipalities being recognized by the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)’s Clean Energy Communities Program are:

CAPITAL REGION: Albany County, Town of Bethlehem, Schenectady County, City of Cohoes, Town of Niskayuna, Town of Knox, City of Albany

HUDSON VALLEY: Ulster County, Town of New Castle, Village of Dobbs Ferry, City of Kingston, Town of Red Hook, Town of Rosendale, Village of Hastings-on-Hudson, Village of Croton-on-Hudson, City of White Plains, City of Yonkers, Town of Ossining, Town of Somers, Town of Marbletown, City of New Rochelle, City of Beacon, Town of Mamaroneck, City of Peekskill, Village of Goshen

MOHAWK VALLEY: City of Gloversville, Village of Ilion, City of Rome, Village of Boonville

NORTH COUNTRY: Lewis County, Town of Franklin, Village of Canton